Dunn Creek Baptist Church History

 

 Dunn Creek Baptist Church was founded 1867, when thirty (30) Black members of  the, predominately White Turkey Creek Baptist Church separated to form a new church.  The move was led by Reverend T. Young, Ezekial Rasor, Bluford Anderson, Ruben Posley and George Jones. The first church was a Brush Arbor, the second a log cabin and the third a Depot Style building. The church began with 2 deacons, Bluford Anderson and Ned Jones. The Pastor was Reverend Henry Robinson, who served for two years. Church day was 2nd Sunday in each month.

 The Church has been unique in its organization of its Ministry, from 1867 to the present . Only 18 Ministers  has served as pastor.From 1867 to 1966 much progress was made. Many auxiliaries were organized and are coming to this day to do great work in building of Christian Humanity. Being aware of the keen insight, fearless leadership, labor and prayers of those sainted pioneers who gave Dunn Creek the high standard of Christian leadership in yesteryears, we move forward today with great determination.

In 1956 a building fund was started and grew slowly until 1958 when Reverend J.S. Maddox Jr. , then Pastor  began to visualize our need for a more adequate building. Since 1958 we have purched (15 1/2) additional acres of land making a total of (29) twenty- nine acres and our building fund treasure has reach over $ 40,000.00 dollars.